About Our Government

The government of the City of Waynesboro is composed of a mayor and six council members. The city is divided into three wards for the purpose of elections. The wards are designated as Ward I, Ward II, and Ward III. Two council members are elected from each ward by the voters in that ward. Each ward represents a defined geographical area of the city. The members of the City Council serve four year terms. Terms are staggered with elections held every two years.